RD Pistons and Rings

Home Forums CB1100R Owners Club Forum RD Pistons and Rings

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    BrianC
    Participant

My RD restoration is under way, with parts are being sourced in large(ish) chunks. I haven’t stripped the engine yet as I’ll do the chassis and body stuff first but I’ll get seals, Orings and gaskets coz I know I need them. Not sure what I will find piston wise, but piston ring availability seems to be a bit light on. I haven’t actively tried to source yet, just looking to see how much money I have to part with. I am hoping it is standard, bit of a hone and new rings, I don’t really want to go for a big bore kit. Can anybody point me in the right direction to source rings please? Is it just through David Silver etc? Are the 1100F ones used? Is there something special with R rings? (Apart from being ‘R’ rings!!). Thanks.

GrahamR

Hi Brian, I’m far from an expert on R’s but I believe OEM rings are no longer available. I seem to remember reading Andre’s article about his engine rebuild and he had the pistons machined to accept after market rings.
    I am sure Andre has the answer somewhere in a previous article.

Graham.

Anonymous
    Inactive

icon14.png

HI Brian,

Honda NOS rings are hard to find these days but they do turn up. David Silver and CMS in Holland are two potential suppliers whenever they turn any up. Check their website regularly.

There are quite a few other options it seems as there’s been much discussion over recent years on various forums.

Recently Ralf Buhl in Germany advised that full barrel piston and Ring sets were available from Germany through Gerhard Mossner from TeamDor http://www.teamdor.com/
    Not sure if you can just get the rings and if they are compatible with the standard pistons though.